Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how? You should give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge to support your response.

Some people may argue that learning their mother tongue in school is not as necessary as learning to speak English. Yet, this might be the main impetus for their language’s annihilation. In my opinion, English is a global language, and an English speaker is an asset to any entity, so it is essential that everyone learns it; however, we must conserve the existence of our native languages by making them obligatory in all schools.

Learning English has become crucial recently. Since it is the most spoken language in the world, it opens the opportunity to communicate with people from various backgrounds. Often, in a foreign country, we will be able to communicate in English with most of the local residents. In addition, it is a vital attribute that adds a lot of weight to a resume. Renowned corporations nowadays set it as a basic and essential requirement that their employees speak English and that indicates the significance of learning it.

In contrast, this does not change the fact that learning to speak our local languages is as fundamental as learning English. Our native languages are part of our identity and ethnicity, which is why we should prevent their extinction. One way to approach this, is making government-sponsored campaigns to encourage schools to consider local languages as an integral subject like any other scientific subject.

In conclusion, speaking English is a desirable quality that everyone should have; however, this should not happen at the expense of exterminating our own languages. Native languages should be a compulsory course in schools to ensure its longevity in the upcoming years.