Learning foreign languages is a waste of time because digital translation tools work instantly and accurately. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes believed that advanced technological devices can offer a precise and fast translation in other languages, which is unnecessary for residents to learn a new language. This essay strongly disagrees with this suggestion for several reasons.

The first argument given to support my belief is that advanced technology cannot replace people in face-to-face communication. This is because in every conversation, human often use facial expressions and gestures that technology cannot imitate while translating a language. As a result, residents cannot have emotional connections with foreigners and thus interrupting the atmosphere between them. Such silent gaps waiting for translation can be time-consuming for a small conversation, which means language barrier becomes the main factor of disconnection through different nations. Consequently, some people may have a fear of talking with international tourists because they cannot speak foreign languages. This is why I think that innovative technological devices cannot replace people completely in everyday conversations.

Another point behind my belief is that the new generation without learning new languages will become less bilingual in their future careers. This behaviour will limit their opportunities to enter international enterprises because of the lack of language skills. Young people, therefore, cannot work abroad and attract investment from international companies, becoming unable to contribute to the overall economy of their countries. For instance, students who want to study abroad are required at least a certification of a common language such as English. The main reason is that they need to meet people with multicultural backgrounds, which means they need language skills to communicate with their colleagues and customers. For this reason, I believe learning a new language is an advantage for many people to expand their opportunities with high-paying jobs and working in global companies.

In conclusion, I firmly disagree that modern technology can surpass people in translating foreign languages given the aforementioned arguments.