Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people say living in a country where the spoken language is different from your mother tongue can cause some problems both socially and practically, the others think that this should not be an issue. In my opinion this situation could lead to some misunderstandings and obstacles but never a serious problem therefore I partially agree with this opinion.

First of all, in my opinion language barrier could be an obstacle. Especially in countries which are socially conservatives. This is an understandable fact that a lot of people are not willing to speak another language besides their mother tongue. Because of this reason this country’s citizens might not want to include a stranger to their cycle. A person who can not speak the language of the country he or she is living in could feel lonely. Another important reason why I think language barrier could be an obstacle is that work or school environment. If people can not understand each other both verbally and oral this situation can reduce one’s performance and self-esteem.

On the contrary, nowadays the internet and world wide web is so improved. A lot of people making foreign friends, especially younger generations, are more willing to speak an international language. In addition to that there are more international exchange programs available compared to 10 years ago. This advancements are lead people to get along with foreigners. For instance nowadays a lot of people are doing their master’s degree abroad to gain international experiences therefore they are also gaining international friends, in addition that companies are sending their employees to international assignments to learn different types of businesses.