Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Speaking a foreign language in a country is one of the most common problems that people now face. Where their major impacts are on the social and practical context to live in the country. I too feel that is one of the serious problems that a person in a foreign country would face most of the time.

Migrating to other countries is now a trend in most places whether as a tourist, a student or a worker. Most of them would choose to fly to another country. However, speaking the language that is native to the place is a difficult task for most of them. The first problem they have to overcome is that their flow of speech is affected. The ease with which we speak our native language cannot be mastered when talking in a foreign language. Learning a second language takes place over a time. So there is an inhibition of speaking occurring between the people. For instance, a tourist who wants to know the history of a famous monument in the country cannot understand it completely when a native person explains it in their local language .Another barrier is that most people would find difficulty in building new friendships in the new country. As they do not feel very confident about their linguistic skills, they tend to become socially introverted. In addition, they are likely to face more tension on themselves as they are speaking to a new individual. Thereby making it difficult to communicate with people around them and form new relationships.

Another issue that most of them face over the first few days is there are chances of them being cheated by the shop vendors. Like most tourists, they would like to buy souvenirs from the place they visited, but some shopkeepers who understand that the person is new to the place sometimes tend to ask for a higher price than usual. This leads the tourist to face a loss. Moreover, sometimes basic necessities such as toilets or good restaurants cannot be identified easily in most places as these terms are being mentioned in their local language. For instance, a student who just migrated to a new country for study purposes has to eat from a particular restaurant with dislike in the first week as he/she cannot locate any other nearby good restaurant.

Therefore, speaking in a foreign language in a country would affect the social behaviours and their practical lives in such a way that there are chances of breakdown in their communication, difficulty in finding new relationships, chances of being misled by others and difficulty in locating the basic amenities in the new country.