Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

living in a country where its citizens communicate in a completely different language than a person’s native language can raise several severe problems in both social and practical aspects of that person’s life. I totally agree that inhabiting in a country without knowing the dominant local language would breed serious issues in various aspects of an individuals’ life including, working and education.

One of the most important challenges faced by a non-native resident in the target country is finding a suitable job. Obviously, employers prefer to work with someone who can affectively communicate with his/her colleagues. Knowing the language spoken by the most employees would be the least requirement for the job seekers to be considered as potential candidates. It is important because they need to be able to understand their tasks and responsibilities. Moreover, without any knowledge of the foreign language the job applicants will not be able to socialize with their teammates and this in turn, would deteriorate their efficiency in the workplace. This is exactly what employers try to avoid, an employee with no positive impact.

Furthermore, living in a foreign country without knowing the local spoken language would deprive the individuals of the education opportunities in the target country. It would be very difficult for the newly arrived resident to participate any courses or classes, comprehend various concepts discussed in the class, communicate with the classmates, and solve the assignments. Evidently, without the ability neither to communicate nor to understand the topics taught in the class, no one can succeed in their educational journey.

In conclusion, I agree that living in a country with a foreign language would make serious social and practical barriers which hinder individuals’ prosperity and success in various aspects of their life.