Many animals that live in zoos die much earlier than those in the wild. Why does this happen, and what are the consequences of continually bringing animals from the wild into zoos?

Many animals that live in zoos die much earlier compared to those in the wild. There are certain reasons behind this problem and if no measures are taken, this issue can lead to more complications in the future.

On the one hand, this issue can be explained in several ways. First, diseases that may arise due to lack of conditions for creatures. There are many zoos where food is not enough, not giving antibiotics for strengthening immunity, and mess in shelters. As a result, there is a risk of arising illnesses and spreading across the whole zoo. Those that live in the wild can hunt in order to gain useful vitamins for their health and nutrients. For instance, the zoos located in Somalia have the greatest level of death because of not having enough food and illnesses. Second, mistakes during the coordination of animals. In other words, hunters such as wolves, tigers, and lions are located near animals like sheep, rabbits, and cows, so it leads to a fear from hunters and exit from shelters. Consequently, they stop entirely eating any food and will be more stressed, which may cause death.

On the other hand, leaving this issue unaddressed might cause new problems in the future. First, the number of endangered species may fall. It is essential to have a sense of freedom for breeding, which cannot be found in zoos. For example, female tigers that live in the southwestern side of Africa breed in places where no living creature can be found. Therefore, continually bringing animals from the wild can lead to the absence of entire species.

To conclude, the main causes behind the death of animals in zoos are not only lacking conditions for creatures but also mistakes while locating them. If this problem is not resolved promptly, it might be followed by such effects as decreasing the number of endangered animals.