Many criminals commit further crime as soon as they are released from prison. What do you think are the causes of this? What possible sollutions can you suggest?

Nowadays, criminal relapse rate has become a serious issue in many countries. This essay will discuss main problems associated with this issue such as lack of rehabilitation and poverty, and also suggests some possible solutions to reduce reoffending rates.

This is mainly because harsh prison conditions often make prisoners more aggressive rather than reforming them. For instance, those who have served a sentence usually tend to commit a crime again as they can’t re-enter society due to having no drive or strength to rebuild their life. Another possible reason for criminal relapse rate is financial hardship and deprivation. In fact, people who were behind the bar are often deprived of employment and struggle to reintegrate into society due to stigma and discrimination. Consequently, they definitely engage in criminal activity again.

To tackle these problems, the government should implement crime prevention measures such as reformation initiatives and employment opportunities. Firstly, rehabilitation programs including counselling and mental health services should be offered to ex-offenders as it can help them for resocialization. Secondly, government should invest more money to job placement support after release that can reduce the likelihood of reoffending. Since reoffending rates can be reduced by providing second chances. A good illustration of this is that mainly people who were set free from jail find themselves in poverty and unemployment that drive them back to criminal activities.

In conclusion, although there are several reasons why ex-prisoners reoffend, such as lack of rehabilitation and poverty, these issues can be solved by improving correctional programs and creating more job opportunities for released offenders.