Many employers are now offering their employees the option to work from home. As a result, employees will have much more flexible working hours in the future. Is this a positive or negative development?

It has been common that majority of employees prefer working from their home. While there are some downsides of being employed from distance for many workers, I feel that it is more advantageous for them from many sides.

There is much to be said about the negative sides of working online. First, it leads to some health issues, including stress, reducing the eyesight and harm for their posture. While sitting for long hours and looking at screen, their eyes get more exhausted and tired from all those long-lasting tasks, connecting with their work. As a result, it causes not only health problems, but also the feeling of isolated and tired from their daily work. Additionally, working from distance may cause some communication problems, mainly with their manager or other workers from the work. The more they work online using computer, the more stressed and unmotivated they get. As a consequence, they feel isolated and start to see no reasons to work extremely well. Furthermore, as they need to work from home, they have more distractions, such as children, house chores and also noise from range of activities their children do. This means, they can not fully concentrate and focus on their work, which leads to slow pace of promotion and high salary. To exemplify, according to recent research by professor from the most prestige university of the UK, nowadays many people suffer from several kinds of amusements and health issues, while they are working from home with their children.

On the other hand, I believe that being employed from home has more benefits. The biggest achievement that can achieved through working from distance is lower daily expenses, including transportation, fuel for their private car, and also costs of lunch on a daily basis. As, it helps them to spend less money for their daily needs, instead it gives them a chance to buy the best computer to work on. Another benefit could be that operating from home offers better work-life balance and flexible schedule to work. As people can choose when and where they work and mix it with house duties, children and cooking for their family. This means, after finishing all tasks, they have some free time not only for self-care, but also study for being promoted quickly. To illustrate, my friend, who operates in online work as a manager since 2015 year. And he always says that it is very useful for people, who want to have some free time and mix both work and house chores at the same time which really helped him to be promoted in his work.

In conclusion, despite the fact that there are some detrimental sides of being employed remotely, I assume that it comes with more advantageous sides such as flexible timetable and being promoted quickly.