Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that economic progress is the most essential goal for governments; however, some people say that other types of progress are equally crucial for a country. Personally, I strongly believe that there are various factors besides the economy to be prioritized and considered.

On the one hand, most governments are likely to place emphasis on economic progress since this is one of the fundamental goals in order to develop the country. As economic growth and international business might result in cultural ties between countries, their products can be more accessible and familiar to people worldwide. One good example of this is the industrial development in the silk trade in China, which accounts for approximately two-thirds of international silk production. Moreover, economic progress also significantly contributes to tourism, particularly by promoting the influx of visitors. In this regard, not only does the economy affect a country’s status, but it also has a profound impact on other fields.

On the other hand, I would argue that more areas in relation to global affairs are equally essential. One of the most pressing issues in the world is the environment, which currently causes a wide range of pollution. Additionally, environmental issues are causing concern that these may have a negative influence on the residents’ habitat as well as wild animals and biodiversity. Another field that has caught individuals’ interest is human rights and social justice due to its role in maintaining society and nation sustainability. Many social media platforms have updated the latest status about the conflict between Israel and Palestine, leading to various campaigns and organizations advocating for human rights. The interconnected nature of these issues highlights the need for a comprehensive approach to global affairs, including environmental protection and human rights. Therefore, it is clear that alongside economic considerations, fostering peace and ensuring liberty are crucial for a sustainable future of a country.

In conclusion, while it is undeniable that economic progress plays a vital role in a country’s development, I believe that there is more than just the economy that has a crucial contribution to the status of a country, including environmental issues as well as human rights and social justice.