Many individuals who have been incarcerated face challenges in reintegrating into society after their release, leading some to reoffend. Is this a positive or negative development? What measures should be implemented to address this issue?

Life after prison can be daunting. Not only is the public becoming less empathic, but it is also more judging towards ex-offenders nowadays. This is an unfavorable trend, and this essay will explore the dysfunctional relationship between discontinued rehabilitation and recidivism, before proposing some solutions.

To begin with, this stigma is a symptom of a broken justice system, where a society unknowingly perpetuates crimes. This undermines the core essence of a justice system, which is to reform and rehabilitate individuals for a dignified life. However, one must ask, “What is the point of reformation, if after incarceration, one remains deprived of opportunities to do well?” When an ex-offender faces discrimination, rejection, and unemployment, there is a higher chance to recommit crimes in order to make ends meet.

In order to prevent recidivism, a concerted effort among citizens and the government is necessary. Firstly, local officials can initiate sports events and municipal clean-ups to foster inclusivity. Were these events implemented, ex-offenders could build friendships and gain a sense of belonging. Furthermore, individuals should avoid disparaging comments. While many jokes often seem innocuous, they are sometimes riddled with discriminatory undertones, and that can debilitate a reformed individual. Finally, the government must legislate programs extending reformation through vocational courses, therapy sessions, and job placement assistance. These examples serve as an assurance that the justice system is not a vessel for revenge, but one that actualizes peaceful reintegration.

In conclusion, no good intention from any justice system shall materialize without mobilizing the community. Instead of limited opportunities and discrimination, ex-offenders should experience a kinder language, an inclusive society, and various government programs dedicated to second chances at life. They often say “it takes a village” to raise a child; today, I see no reason why that village would fail in rebuilding human dignity.