Many people believe that bicycle is a healthy and environmentally friendly mode of transport. However, it is still unpopular in many countries. What are the reasons for that? What could be done to encourage the use of bicycles among the wider population?

Bicycle is known to be a healthy and environmentally friendly mode of transport. However, despite these advantages, cycling remains unpopular among people in many countries. This problem can be effectively addressed by developing the infrastructure and organizing communities to promote healthy lifestyle.

First of all, one of the main causes bicycles are not popular transport is poor infrastructure. Many cities lack dedicated cycling lines, making roads dangerous for cyclists. Additionally, the large number of cars and motorcycles often influence on accidents and discourages people to use bicycle as a main transport. For example, according to the survey made in France in 2021, 45% of cyclists had traumas because accidents on roads . To solve this issue, government should invest in developing infrastructure by adding bicycle lanes, parking spaces and bike-sharing programs. These changes can make cycling safer and more convenient, therefore more people will be motivated to use bicycles.

Moreover, another major reason is that cycling requires physical effort. Cycling can be exhausting, especially for people who have not physical abilities. In addition, several individuals prefer cars to avoid fatigue. For instance, according to the research made be Columbia university, mostly people who live in urban areas do not support cycling as the mode of transport. However, this problem can be addressed by organizing groups where the healthy lifestyle and importance of cycling will be explained. This solutions will encourage residents to use bicycles ant promote it as the one of the major types of public transport.

In conclusion, unpopularity of bicycles is primarily caused by poor infrastructure and lack of healthy lifestyle, but this issue can be resolved through exploration of bicycle roads and organization communities to promote active lifestyle.