Many people go to university for academic study. More people should be encouraged to do vocational training because there is a lack of qualified workers such as electricians and plumbers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, a growing number of students who prioritized academics are higher, however, some argue that more people should be strongly motivated to take part in vocational training since professional workers are less in number. I contradict this notion since knowledge is fundamental and some occupations require specific study instead of immediate training.

Academic pursuit is crucial because the knowledge obtained from higher education would be one of the basic qualifications in a practical setting. In order to be a professional, it is mandatory for each individual to continue their study in university before being involved in the working environment. Additionally, some university major, like engineering, provide opportunities for their students to do training during their studies, therefore they would gain skills and be equipped.

Furthermore, some occupations require specific knowledge. therefore the training will come after. When someone does not possess the specific knowledge and joins the experiential work, it will bring forth more disadvantages since the equipping process will be longer and less functional. Take the example of an electrician. If a person does not acquire any knowledge related to electricity yet this person takes part in fixing the electricity, several downsides would be present, such as minor damage or even electric shock which triggers fire.

To summarize the points, theoretical pursuit in higher education like in university is a high priority since it is the main qualification in the work environment. Moreover, some professions require specified knowledge instead of training. For that reason, I strongly disapprove of this notion.