Many people go to university for academic study. More people should be encouraged to do vocational training because there is a lack of qualified workers such as electricians and plumbers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Today’s society is characterized by pragmatism, as evidenced by the preference for training for practical employment over academic education. I disagree with the idea that vocational training is more valuable than a university degree, although the latter has certain significance.

Providing the workforce with the necessary knowledge and skills is unquestionably crucial and advantageous. Evidently, not everyone can study effectively in the research-focused setting characteristic of higher education. In reality, it would be harmful to presume that everyone, regardless of how talented they are, should be given an equal chance to attend college. American institutions, which have witnessed an indiscriminate increase in the quantity of university degrees, have also, ironically, suffered from an overall decrease in quality. On the other hand, a talented worker may create real values for society, which ought to be maintained.

This does not, however, imply that it is acceptable to underestimate the university degree. By contrast, ignoring higher education would seriously harm a nation’s sustainability and development. For instance, no foundation could be set for scientific and technological applications without ongoing study of and instruction in the basic sciences, which have recently been criticized as impractical. Similar to the previous example, studies of history, literature, and philosophy are sometimes castigated as obscure and futile, but without them, people would experience unimaginable mental poverty and would be no different from mindless labor machines.

In summary, while university education prepares one for serious research undertakings, vocational training trains potential skilled workers. Though the two types of education take different paths, they both play critical roles in society.