Many people no longer read newspapers or watch TV news programmes. Instead they get news about the world from the Internet. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, a considerable number of individuals prefer to have themselves updated about the news via the Internet as opposed to traditional methods such as newspapers and TV. This essay will delve into reasons contributing to this phenomenon while underpinning the fact that it is indeed a positive trend.

To begin with, a shift in the individual’s preference in opting internet over traditional methods to check the news can be attributed to several factors. Firstly, the rat-race lifestyle, which is vastly seen nowadays, has led to people being snowed under workload. This has caused them to lack time to watch scheduled TV news. The internet has provided an unlimited source of news for them to check, in their free time. Secondly, instead of holding a newspaper, which is quite challenging to carry during work time, it is more practical to carry a smartphone to check on the news, thanks to the internet.

Furthermore, there are reasons why I believe that the outcome of increasing people’s tendency to choose the Internet rather than traditional methods is positive. One reason is that the limited sources that TV and newspapers provide cannot be compared to the infinite sources of the Internet. That is, if one is in a hurry to update the news heard on TV or read in a newspaper, they must wait until the next TV broadcast or published newspaper. However, thanks to the Internet, updated news can be checked by surfing the net with a laptop or a pushing a button on a smartphone. Additionally, news broadcasted via traditional methods is mostly revised a goes under some censorship by authorities, especially in third-world nations which mostly are ruled by dictators. But news can be revealed in the form of their origin without any manipulation on the Internet.

In conclusion, compelling factors have led to people choosing to check the news on the internet, and this trend is rising. From my point of view, I strongly believe that the overall outcome of this trend is more beneficial than detrimental.