Many people no longer read newspapers or watch TV news programmes. Instead they get news about the world from the Internet. Is this a positive or negative development?

There is an assertion that the Internet will replace conventional ways such as TV programs or newspapers to get global news. This essay aims to indicate that this phenomenon has adverse impacts on the society, citing: a generation gap within the community and loss of official informative resources.

On the one hand, the old encounter challenging obstacles in getting used to cutting-edge technology, thereby confronting difficulties in approaching information. Since technological innovations have become upgraded swiftly, the old generation has trouble adapting to these. For this reason, they would fall behind the contemporary, leading to adverse outcomes such as mental and physical well-being degradation if the traditional ones completely disappeared. Feeling old-fashioned compared to the modern world, the old are easily depressed, resulting in loss of motivation to live. According to The Youth Press, it is reported that adults ranging from over 40 face challenges in getting access to the Internet without the instructions of the young adults. That matter not only creates uncomfort for those, but it also presents a gap among generations, which negatively affects the old ones.

Moreover, information would be out of control if the traditional approaches were replaced and no longer utilized. As it is explicit that long-established ways to get news through TV and newspapers are inspected by the authorities prior to publicizing, citizens have the ability in ensuring the accuracy of information, avoiding falling victim to scam or misleading ones. Therefore, this change is conducive to maximizing the scope for scammers to do their actions, triggering bad results to the community. A prime example is share in the market, the fluctuation of the price confuses users who receive misleading information, leading to wasteful investments. Hence, investors have great benefits if they are provided official signs through TV programs or newspapers.

In conclusion, I wholeheartedly believe that it would be better if residents contemplated reliable information through resources. In view of constituting the downsides of this development, citizens are able to avoid adverse outcomes.