Many people no longer read newspapers or watch TV news programmes. Instead they get news about the world from the Internet. Is this a positive or negative development?

In globalization era, technology assures the convenient for people in performing daily activities including the needs of updated situation. This essay emphasizes the key drivers on why most people prefer internet to stay update as well argues that this is a large positive development.

To most common reason TV and newspaper are getting left behind seems to be the development of technology, making people easier to access up-to-date news anywhere and anytime from their fingers, while they need to stay on broadcast schedule on TV. When people are commuting to their work place, the news can be browsed online through social media like Instagram and Twitter, watching live news on YouTube, and even listening to Spotify podcast. Moreover, news companies such as BBC and CNN have released their own news application that can be downloaded in ones’ cellphones. In present days, society prefers something compatible that can be easily brought anywhere, leading to the increasing popularity of online news rather than large sized newspaper.

The trend of shifting interest to read news online is generally positive. By making the most of technology, we can work with savings as well giving contribution towards environment by reducing the use of paper. Watching TV takes more cost for electricity and subscribe fee on cable TV, however internet data is much more affordable in today’s world and even Wi-Fi is getting easily accessible. Furthermore, decreasing the number of newspaper printing means the decreasing of deforestation that happened due to the overuse of paper, accompanied by the reducing of paper trash in the landfills.

In conclusion, while TV and newspaper are no longer preferred by most people due to its non-compatible design, internet provides world-wide news that can be easily accessed through text, video, and audio. This trend is environmental friendly as well support people’s savings.