Many people no longer read newspapers or watch TV news programmes. Instead they get news about the world from the Internet. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, the TV news programmes and the newspapers are less relevant as Internet became the most popular source of news. I think that while they are some downsides, it is mostly a positive development.

First and foremost, while the traditional news media is released once a day or even once a week, the Internet is constantly updating. Once something important happens, you can guarantee that in a few hours the news about it will be everywhere. Meanwhile, the news report on TV or the newspaper can only talk about it next day or even next week, which may be too late for some people. Another positive of Internet news are that they are more reliable. TV news programmes take time to be recorded and the newspaper needs time to be written, printed and distributed. During any step of this process something can go wrong, which means that the people will not learn about the news in time. Meanwhile, it does not take a lot of time to report the news to the Internet, and they can almost never be removed from the web.

It can be argued that traditional news is made by experts while Internet news can be made by anyone. However, a lot of news companies now also distribute news through the web, which means that they are written with the same level of professionality as newspapers or TV news programmes. They are also more diverse and unbiased, as people can learn news from all over the world instead of only the news in your region.

In conclusion, the speed, reliability and diversity of the Internet makes it a better news source for the people than TV programmes and newspapers.