Many people no longer read newspapers or watch TV news programmes. Instead they get news about the world from the Internet. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is true that getting news from internet has become increasingly over the decades. While some people argue that this is a negative development, I believe that this trend has positive influences on societies.

Undoubtedly, traditional news coverages such as newspaper and TV programs have their own advantages. First of all, traditional news are mostly published by professional writers, they do not only describe the truth of events but also express their concepts from professional perspective, which can always offer the public deeper coverages. Secondly, the information on newspapers or TV programs are usually censored by their directors or governments, which can largely avoid fraudulent and fake new. Lastly, it is convenient and comfortable to access traditional medias, people can easily get newspapers before they go to trains or buses, TV programs can also be watched at their homes, offices or subways.

On the other hand, internet is a more fast and efficient method to access news all around the world. Besides computers, individuals can also use mobile phones surfing on the internet, allowing them keeping in touch of the latest news at the first time whenever and wherever they are. Furthermore, social media also provide opportunities for the public to aware what has happened in the world, which are usually reported by social celebraties. For instance, people can follow global social influencers such as youtubers, they produce videos and even go to event spots when some sensational events happened. Lastly, advertisements and promotions are surging on the internet due to millions of viewers watching news on the internet, bringing out addition benefits to the social economy.

In conclusion, internet has been a more effective way for individuals to access informations, and it also have positive impact on our daily lives and overall socio-economic well-being.