Many people put their personal information online (address, telephone number, and so on) for purposes such as signing up for social networks or online banking. Is this a positive or negative development?

With the advancement of technology, more people are opening accounts for internet banking or social media purposes. This has led to the question of whether it is beneficial to put personal information online. In my opinion, despite the convenience it brings, individuals should not put their personal details online.

On the one hand, I can understand the reason for uploading information online. Firstly, it makes signing up for new accounts much more convenient for users. For example, in the past, to open up an online account, they would have to go to that company and complete lots of paperwork. By transferring from directing to online, customers save time doing these procedures. Another pros is that this makes signing in apps easier for users. Instead of choosing each distinct category of questions like the history, users only need to provide their phone number or email address to get verified. This feature is useful when someone is trying to sign in to a bank account during an emergency.

On the other hand, there are multiple problems with sharing personal data. The first one is that, by doing this, the user will become a delicious target for hackers. Once the hackers can hold your personal information, online scam is easier to happen and users can lose lots of money. Once more, some databases like TikTok have collected and sold users’ personal information.

In conclusion, although providing personal details makes procedure convenient for people, it has to be done carefully since currently, it still does more harm than good.