Many retired people today are choosing to live in other countries. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

These days, majority of older parents tend to live abroad, rather than remain in their homeland. Due to better life conditions and curiosity to see another country and culture, retired people choose not to stay in their country. Nevertheless, there are some obstacles to move on another land, such as hard living abroad and loneliness.

On the one hand, living abroad may have some benefits. Firstly, retired people want to have more comfortable life with development conditions for the rest of their lives. Mostly, they migrate to country, which has more opportunities for living calm life. Opportunities may involve better citizens safety, which can ensure them that they have strong freedom security, or more accessible basic needs like lower prices. Secondly, pensioners have already seen their own country and want to expand their horizons. Older adults desire to see the world and cultures of other nations. Living abroad might provide that. For instance, they may discover culture, which includes language, holidays, national dishes and drinks, that can sacrificed their curiosity.

On the other hand, retired people may face some issues in another country. First of all, it is hard to adapt abroad, especially for elder people, because they have never seen another mentality and most of them struggle to learn a new language. Because of the memory’s troubles, learning a new language at old age is a really hard thing. With age, brain becomes less efficient. It is harder to process new information, such as grammar and vocabulary. Secondly, loneliness may be one of the difficulty. When people live far away from their friends and family, they feel alone and introverted, that might be one of the terrible feelings.

To sum up, because of the better life and their curiosity, majority of pensioners choose to move to another country, however there are some obstacles such as loneliness and difficulty of adapting.