Many students find it difficult to focus or pay attention at school nowadays. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to solve this problem?

It is observed that a significant number of students have difficulties concentrating while at school. This could be due to unexciting teaching methods and a viable solution to this problem is by making teaching more interesting.

One of the major causes of lack of concentration among students at school is uninteresting teaching techniques. Put in another way, boring teaching methods such as the use of monotonous lectures, limited interactive sessions, tedious drills and so on, could make learning difficult for the students thereby leading to poor concentration. Evidence abounds that a considerable number of pupils in the southeastern part of Nigeria find it difficult to concentrate especially during Mathematics lectures and this was linked to monotonous teaching methods used by their tutors. Thus, tepid teaching strategies could lead to lack of concentration among students during lectures.

However, one effective way to tackle this problem is by making teaching more interactive. In other words, adopting fun and engaging ways of learning such as incorporating hands-on activities, educational games, encouraging group discussions and so on would make learning more interesting thereby making students pay more attention during classes. These activities could make difficult topics more relatable and memorable for the students. An excellent example is an unpublished study in the United Kingdom which showed an outstanding academic performance among students since the adoption of a more interesting and engaging teaching techniques. Hence, interesting teaching strategies could make students focus more on their studies while at school.

In conclusion, lack of concentration among students could be due to tepid teaching methods. Nevertheless, adopting interactive teaching techniques would help stave off this problem.