Many students find it difficult to focus or pay attention at school nowadays. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to solve this problem?

A number of pupils have problems with concentration at study in recent years. It may be tough to focus and be attentive in the study process due to information overload from the earliest ages and old-fashioned way of education. In my opinion it could be decided by changing the education process which may help to increase the engagement rate in educational materials.

The current trend toward endless news-feed scrolling in social media directly affects young people. In recent years the most popular social platforms such as Instagram, Youtube, Facebook upgraded their news feeds the way it became endless and adaptive to users’ interests at the exact moment. As a result, the amount of information for one person is extremely big and they are not able to focus on data for a long time.

Also the lack of concentration may be consequences of the traditional way of educational process which is based on listening and reading and does not use practical skills or unusual engagement between student and study materials.

A gamification of school education may help to solve the problem from the previous paragraph. Firstly, upgrading the study process by adding entertainment parts will be common to modern behavioral patterns for young people. Secondly, it will increase motivation to study and lever of memorability. According to the Gamification Global Market report, 67% of students agree that lessons with elements of gamification in learning are more motivating than traditional classes and students performance can increase by 89%.

In conclusion, many people have difficulties with focus and attentiveness at school. However this can be solved by gamification elements during the study process that encourage motivation and overall students’ performance.