Many students find it difficult to focus or pay attention at school nowadays. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to solve this problem?

In light of modernization, education works as the precursor of the vast majority’s fruitful future, and how to enhance the quality of teaching and learning has always been a topic of interest. Hence, it is warned that many students are struggling to muster up their concentration in school. This essay sheds light on the causes of this problem before outlining some measures to address it.

This issue can be boiled down to the nature of today’s study and the advent of cutting-edge amenities. To begin with, an ordinary school curriculum in the present day is rife with tediously long hours of lectures, which in turn, is a total hindrance for students to cultivate love and enthusiasm with learning. As paper-intensive as nowadays lessons are, it is understandable why students find it hard to pay attention in school. Furthermore, modern technologies, such as smartphones or handheld game devices, also have an adverse bearing on students’ attention span. To illustrate, youngsters cannot do away with their smartphones even during parties and their meals, let alone boring school time.

Therefore, I suggest two major solutions to tackle this problem. Firstly, education officials need to implement more interactive activities into each lesson and school curriculum as a whole. For example, schools in America place heavy emphasis on the role of students in lieu of teachers or rigid knowledge as learners are often required to do seminars, presentations or partly contribute to the lectures, which clearly boosts their eagerness to learn. Secondly, given how adversely technological devices can affect individuals’ productivity, schools should also clamp down on the use of such items that do not serve educational purposes while in class.

In conclusion, the boring teaching method and abuse of digital gadgets in school should be held accountable for the aforementioned problem. Ergo, the traditional way of teaching and personal use of such devices, from my perspective, needs to be reformed.