Many students find it harder to study when they are at university or college than when they were at school. Why is this? What can be done to solve the problem?

In this day and age, studying at university or college becomes increasingly difficult for a considerable number of students. This essay would examine some causes for this practice before presenting methods to cope with this problem.

There are a variety of reasons why students find it more difficult to study at university than at school. Firstly, the majors in university are likely to be more academic and cover different fields than those in high school. As a result, students might struggle with self-directed learning, adapting to new educational environments, especially first-year students. The second reason is that living away from their families without parental supervision during university, students appear to be distracted from studying. For instance, many of them decide to work part-time to get money to cover more expenses. This would decrease their academic results and in the long run they might even be at a higher risk of dropping out of school.

However, I am inclined to contend that some methods can be taken to solve the problem. A notable measure is that families and schools should support students to define their dreams and future careers at an early age. Hence, they can choose the appropriate career path for themselves and try their best to achieve, which really helps them maintain high performance at higher education. Furthermore, it is advisable for students to expand their relationships at university to assist each other in studying. Not only does it help them get a better understanding about academic subjects, but it also provides them with emotional support during stressful times.

In conclusion, while transitioning to university life brings multiple challenges such as complex academic demands and distractions from newfound independence, these issues can be effectively addressed. Through early career guidance and strong peer support networks, students can successfully overcome these hurdles and thrive in their higher education.