More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people think a solution can be to increase the price of fattening foods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s world, obesity is becoming a critical issue and more proportions of population are getting overweight. One solution to this catastrophe is to rise the costs of unhealthy food products which lead to more obesity. Although I agree this can be a good solution, I believe it will be short-term and other measures are to be considered.

Firstly, by increasing the prices of fattening foods, a significant number of ordinary people may stop consuming them in the early stages and start buying more healthy products. However, due to an ever-increasing rate of inflation, all residents are getting used to high prices and still manage their money to spend on the goods they tend to. As a result, it is probable for the average to control their expenditures on other fields in order to afford to buy fast food which are assumed to be fattening. Additionally, this solution will have no effect on the wealthy, since they earn well enough to purchase even the most expensive products.

On the other hand, authorities such as the government are able to manage the obesity rates through better and more long-term plans by legislating new laws and raising awareness among the whole society members. The food manufacturers, for instance, should begin producing healthier products with less fat and distribute them in the market due to the heavy fines legislated by the government. Moreover, since the media plays an essential role in almost every individual’s life, TV and news producers must prepare more programs about healthy lifestyles and promote the spectators to become careful about their cuisine choice.

To conclude, in spite of a real reduction in buying fattening foods due to an increase in their prices, this method could be considered as a short-term solution. I believe that more practical approaches addressing obesity issues are to be taken by authorities, such as raising awareness and legislating particular laws, which will probably influence the residents more strongly over time.