More and more people are choosing to read e-books rather than paper books. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of this trend?

Nowadays, many people choose to read digital publications instead of physical books because of the convenience of online reading. Despite certain negative aspects, the overall benefits of this trend are more considerable than its drawbacks.

It is apparent that one of the most obvious disadvantages of reading e-books is physical and mental strains. Spending a long time looking at screen can cause serious problems such as eye exhausion, headache. In addition, overusing electronic devices may lead to behavioural and cognitive disorders, such as poor concentration and attention span. As a result, some people find it difficult to focus on reading for a long period of time.

However, the advantages of this trend are significantly considered. First and foremost, accessing e-books helps people save a considerable amount of invaluable time. Online resources are easy and quick to search, allowing readers to find information rapidly with just a click. This is especially useful for students to optimize / ultilize their academic productivity and proficiency. Moreover, e-books are far more convenient to stored in a virtual space, which reduces the need to carry heavy paper books.

In conclusion, although reading e-books may cause some negative effects on health, the convenience and time-saving benefits clearly outweigh the disadvantages. Therefore, the increasing popularity of e-books can be seen as a positive development.