More and more people are choosing to work from home with the help of technology. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development ?

In the contemporary world, some people suggest that working from private houses has become increasingly popular among many workers, and it is advantageous for both members of staff and firms. This essay will analyse the advantages and a main drawback of this shift.

The major advantage of this phenomenon is that a substantial number of individuals might be unable to physically be at the workplace due to their disabilities, which is why it can be extremely beneficial for these people to earn money for basic needs. Moreover, many people can be distracted by other employees in companies, since there are often different types of awful noise. That can be the major reason why quite a lot of individuals prefer getting assignments at home; consequently, they then changed their workplace to their private house. For instance, people who work at home would have better performance than other workers, since they could have flexible working hours and a comfortable environment for them to work in.

However, a growing number of people can acquire several mental health issues, as many individuals tend to stay at home if there are no requirements to go outside, including work. Middle-aged and older people are often into a peaceful environment, and their apartments are a really good option for them. As a result, if they worked online at home, they would spend a considerable amount of time at their estates. For example, a study conducted at Nazarbayev University in 2022 surveyed approximately 130 employers of online workers, and almost 67 per cent of them stated that a large proportion of their employees, who got a transition to work at their residence, started to suffer from psychological problems because they did not get enough interaction with people, which can negatively affect mental health.

To conclude, although this phenomenon has positive sides for people with health issues, and to enhance working performance, it also has a severe effect on the psyche, resulting in different kinds of stress-related issues.