More and more people want to own famous brands of cars, clothes and other items. What are the reasons for this? Is this a negative or positive trend?

It is becoming increasingly prevalent for the idea of possessing popular materialistic items such as cars or clothes. This essay will elaborate on the reasons behind this trend and present my opinion.

There are several primary factors why a growing number of individuals have a preference for famous labeling merchandise. First and foremost, since prices often go hand in hand with quality, most people are more likely to opt for expensive but highly detailed and complacent products in lieu of low-priced, poorly manufactured, and potentially counterfeit ones. Therefore, those who achieve a decent or higher living standard tend to purchase commodities that are suitable and provide them with a greater sense of comfort. Secondly, humanity has a tendency to boost their self-esteem by showing off their social status and wealth through these materials. For instance, there is a wide range of people who love spending vast sums of money on extravagant electronic devices or luxurious watches in order to prove how well-off they are. Clearly, in this way, their dignity and confidence can be satisfied and uplifted.

Considering the aforementioned elements explaining how more people prefer branding goods, I personally hold the belief that this is a negative trend as it widens the huge rich-poor gap. To be specific, underprivileged citizens may find it challenging to balance their lives in the absence of high-paid occupations and other factors, let alone purchasing lucrative products. At the same time, those who are affluent, in contrast, can not only afford vital living necessities but also allocate an abundant amount of money for private needs. This may lead to hypertension and conflicts between the two communities, hence raising the current inequality state of society.

In conclusion, it can be reasoned that more and more individuals strive to obtain famous brands of items for an enjoyable way of living and self-esteem enhancement. In such circumstances, this can be a downward flow due to the expansion of the gap between the rich and the poor.