News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news, and would it be better if more good news was reported

Newspapers and TV channels often decide what to translate through their media due to the various reasons. The profit, ratings and the number of people their attract depend on the content they produce, so news editors need to post breathtaking and shocking details to be on top. Consequently, people become addictive to the bad news and the everyday bombarding by different events may lead to significant number of problems.

The main reasons how news editors and TV channels choose topics for the new episode are their profits and popularity. Editors may post disregarding facts and exaggerate the level of the reality just to attract spectators. Moreover, newspapers and television don’t care about their reputation and continue to mislead the public to gain the influence and make higher revenue. On the other hand, media can be under the control of the government or the particular political party, which can lead to selecting facts and posting censored information, which could be beneficial for leaders to control their citizens.

There is no doubt that society become addicted to bad news, using them as a distraction from their personal problems. Furthermore, people start to monitor news everyday, to know exactly what happens somewhere and how to prevent them from the disasters.

Nowadays we are all bombarded by the significant amount of events all over the world, which could leads to a lot of drawbacks. Firstly, people could feel overwhelmed with all information they receive everyday and consequently they may loose the control under their own lives and occasions. Secondly, the increase in reporting news could cause an interest in illegal activities, for example, drugs sometimes are showed as a profitable and successful business, so someone can start to commit crimes because of inspiration from the newspapers or TV.