News plays an important part of most people’s lives. Why is news so important to people? Why is so much news dedicated to bad news? Should the news focus on good news instead?

I firmly agree with the statement that news plays an important role in most people’s lives. Many lives are dependent on the news. News plays a key role in the economy, business world, and daily life of many people. I would like to highlight some imperative points regarding the importance of news and propose supporting statements for why so much is accommodated to bad news and whether should it be focused on good news instead.

As I mentioned earlier, many business models, lives, and economies of nations depend on news. The international news about trade and imports decides the volatile nature of the stock market. A tiny bit of friction between global economies like the USA, Russia, and China can fluctuate the stock market within hours. Investors have to keep them updated with global news from time to time to keep their business running and safe. On a smaller scale, many common people start their day by reading the newspaper. This helps them increase their awareness and general knowledge about what is happening in their surroundings. This increases their Intellectual Quotient. Without news, we will all be in the dark and will be completely oblivious to what is happening around us and we cannot survive on this planet without that kind of knowledge. For instance, during a global crisis like Covid-19, the news and social media played a major role in spreading awareness. Without news, many nations would not have an idea of what they were dealing with. Another example is the blockage of the Suez Canal for 6 days because of a container ship. The global economy has crashed, and many multinational companies ran into huge losses in those 6 days. The trade between nations has stopped and the rest of the world would not have an idea of all of this chaos without news. On a micro level, this kind of international hiccups have an impact on all our lives and it is our responsibility to be aware of them.

Furthermore, I do agree to some extent that news is majorly focused on bad incidents but it is required. We need to know what kind of bad situations are people dealing with and we need to prepare ourselves for such situations. Good news is also spread across news platforms. But we consume bad news on a larger volume because we cannot be blind to the bad things happening in the world.

In conclusion, I believe that news plays a key role in our survival on earth and we need to stay updated. I am certain that news channels and representatives maintain a balance between good and bad news. And we need to know about everything we can irrespective of their nature of good or bad.