News plays an important part of most people’s lives. Why is news so important to people? Why is so much news dedicated to bad news? Should the news focus on good news instead?

In a globalized and digital era, people tend to rely on news networks or media to relay new information regarding what is happening in the world as of now. I believe journalism plays a vital part in one’s understanding of the world, as it provides detailed facts of current phenomena which keeps people up to date.

As a source of information, news comes in a variety of lights, either it be good or bad news. Some people pointed out how the news that is available in the media is more eminently unpleasant information, which in the case of journalism is the key to more publicity. Bad news such as crime or controversy gets people talking, and is just way more interesting than some good news, even if great information is well applauded by society, what the media seeks is public attention. In the case where there aren’t any juicy stories, the media would most of the time make up their own false rumors in order to keep the society’s curiosity for new information. This is dangerous on so many levels, as news can manipulate one’s mind into shaping the society into what they would want to uphold.

Despite this, I stand by the belief that both kinds of news should be well journalised and as honest as they may be to post to public view. Although good news gives people hope for the future of the world, bad news keeps people vigilant of their surroundings. As unfortunate as they might be, publicity supports information that requires the spread of awareness to individuals that might not acknowledge them.

With that being said, news that is in the hands of the right media, shapes the minds of society as they publicly extend the power of information to those who might need it. Both bad news and good news should be balanced in the media to show people of the hope they should still retain for the future of the world by understanding the unlikely events that the media highlights for viewers to watch.