News plays an important part of most people’s lives. Why is news so important to people? Why is so much news dedicated to bad news? Should the news focus on good news instead?

Nowadays, news has become an essential part of everyone’s daily life, contributing to their understanding of the world and affecting their thoughts and decisions. Although news presents a vast array of information, it seems to be markedly restricted to negative events and stories. This essay will explain why the news is crucial, why there is so much concentration on bad news, and whether the news should alternatively move towards positive reporting.

Firstly, news plays a pivotal role in keeping individuals aware of current events, both locally and globally, so societies can be updated about political developments, economic trends, social issues, stock prices, and even environmental conditions. Furthermore, news acts as a mirror that truly reflects what governments and institutions are doing; thus, they will be held responsible for their actions, announcements, and laws. For example, since October 7th, 2023, news has shown the true story about the conflict between Israel and the people in the Gaza Strip, and it has also clarified the genocide that Israel is perpetrating there, when people used to see Israel as a symbol of peace and democracy.

On the other hand, there is a clear predominance of unpleasant news and covering negative incidents. This phenomenon is probably because news channels and other media institutions use this method to attract more viewers and followers, as people naturally are more attentive and emotional to these kinds of events. News outlets use that strategy mostly for for-profit goals rather than telling listeners and readers what is going on. Moreover, informing people about big political events, conflicts, the economy, disasters and global issues is necessary and cannot be diminished. However, sharing pessimistic reporting constantly and routinely can cause some critical impacts on recipients, as they may have a sense of despair and hopelessness; thus, more positivity must be engaged in the media. Furthermore, a balance between covering both aspects would be more valuable in terms of exposing reality and making societies more optimistic. In addition to this, a study published at Harvard University in 2022 on 500 individuals aged between 15-75 who watch war news every day revealed that four out of ten people are susceptible to having depression and other psychological issues.

In conclusion, while the news is significantly vital in people’s lives, the ascendancy of negative news produces serious worries. Providing a balance between covering both the adverse and the uplifting aspects of news can be beneficial for more public engagement and interaction and foster a better understanding of the world and contemporary events.