News plays an important part of most people’s lives. Why is news so important to people? Why is so much news dedicated to bad news? Should the news focus on good news instead?

Nowadays, news has become an essential part of human’s life. We received information through newspapers or social media platforms that provided us with plenty of knowledge. In my opinion, news should focus on both sides with bad and good news, not only dedicated to pleasant contents.

On the one hand, reading newspapers is one of the ways of keeping individual awareness of the society locally and globally. For example, the details of the scandals that will be announced through television and also the further information will be listed in the newspaper. The main reason is to focus on good news that helps maintain the reputation of the organisation or the social image of the figures. Although sometimes bad news is not acceptable from the public because of damaging self-reputation, this kind of unpleasant situation should be noticed by citizens instead of being limited to pleasurable events.

On the other hand, people pay more attention to uncomfortable news due to the fact that the important reason is that the contents are more attentive as well as readers being emotional about it. Therefore, today, news channels are full of bad news like disasters. Thus, the news environment should be changed to concentrate on both parts to aid in exploring the reality to the public, particularly there is no way to dedicate to the bad parts of the world but ignore the gracious sides. Hence, news should be fair on discussing two different parts instead of replying in one way to attract readers.

To conclude, reading newspapers has various functions such as reflecting what the government is doing. But the news channels are switching to focus on the attractive side like only the bad or good news, because of maintaining reputation and some contents are observant. I do believe that the news should have balanced on several opinions instead of sole information.