News plays an important part of most people’s lives. Why is news so important to people? Why is so much news dedicated to bad news? Should the news focus on good news instead?

In many parts of the world, news importantly influences people on a daily basis. The dissemination of news has a significant role, as it provides comprehensive information to society. However, numerous pieces of information possess harmful content to engage a multitude of audiences. While it does not have to be advanced, people should only be exposed to factual news.

Considering the breadth of events happening in this world, acknowledging the essential facts may broaden people’s understanding towards those matters. It is indisputable that not every incident can be directly witnessed by people all around the world; therefore, through discovering news, every individual has the same opportunity to discover what is currently happening. For instance, news about earthquakes in Japan may be viral in China, yet, Indonesians still get exposure to this event since the information is spread globally.

Nevertheless, the information among society may consist of hoaxes because the provider solely wants high engagement, resulting in enormous profit. Furthermore, numerous individuals who are less educated are easily attracted by trending topics, which are entertaining, even if they don’t well-roundedly understand what the topic is about. Thus, there will be no challenges for incompetent news generators to disseminate detrimental news. For example, irresponsible agencies may gain commercial benefits after informing fake news to the groups of rural areas’ residents who are easily encouraged, then opt to do harmful actions.

Having appropriate comprehension on data is important; in fact, being informed by entertaining news is not certainly disadvantageous. However, it must be factual to prevent any harsh long-term effects. It must not always be fruitful of data or science if the intention is to amuse the audience. To demonstrate, workers who are stressed due to their workload should unwind their self by watching relaxing news. That said, the contents should be factual although it is intended to entertain society.

In conclusion, there is significance coming from the existence of news in people’s lives. It may educate people about some particulars while they cannot experience it offline. Unfortunately, bad news can be found amidst society due to the interest gained after displaying fake news. Although it may generate several drawbacks, interesting news still can be displayed as long as it does not contain any misleading information.