Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Healthcare has come a long way from what it used to be. From the ancient procedure of rituals and dances to application of drugs and medical procedures for curing diseases. Although medical technology has shown immense progress, some traditional curing methods still prevailed and are considered as an alternative to treatments. I believe this has a negative implication for the development of medicine even though there are some benefits of having an alternative method.

Traditionally made medicines tend to allure people due to their accessibility in terms of their price. Compared to modern medicine, the ingredients that is used are typically locally farmed so there isn’t much cost to making to making them. In addition, producing it primarily requires manual labor and household items as their equipment, so many people can replicate the procedure themselves. This easiness though is a benefit, provides an opportunity for bad actors. Counterfeits of popular side medicines are distributed alongside the authentic ones and even at cheaper prices. They are usualy made with similar ingredients but, used substitute and shortcuts when making them to gain more profits. This poses increased risk to the user and can potentially endangers life.

In contrast, modern medicine uses a variety of equipment, as they are produced with a controlled and precise environment. Subsequently, they require professional medical knowledge while only requiring few hard labor. This ensures the legitimacy of the drugs released and lowers the risk of counterfeit product. Yet, the high standards for the producing method also comes at cost, that is their high sale price. This has made purchasing them inaccessible for most people and in turn raises demand for an alternatives. But, as health technology advances there will be a cheaper way to produce them and make it more affordable.

In conclusion, Alternatives medicine while it can be of use for people of desperate needs, there are risk of fake counterfeit involved that may causes more harm. Modern medicine eliminates those risk by having rigorous steps in manufacturing them even though it inflates their prices. These prices will eventually go down as more efficient and cheaper method can be used to manufacture the medicine.