Nowadays, an increasing number of people with health problems are using alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their normal doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In today’s fast-paced world, it is true that many individuals who have health problems tend to replace complementary treatments and medicines with modern medical treatment, particularly visiting their doctor. While I accept that these alternative treatments can sometimes have a positive effect on the user, I believe that they are more likely to have a detrimental impact due to many reasons.

On the one hand, there are many reasons why people have a fondness for using alternative medicines and treatments. Firstly, modern medicine may be too costly for some individuals to afford, so they tend to use alternative methods with a lower price. Secondly, some fake advertising about traditional medicine as a miracle treatment has a big impact on some individuals, especially elderly people who are primitive, old-fashioned and often easily persuaded. As a result, they will use traditional medicine as an alternative method to modern treatment. For instance, Mailisa company which is famous for plastic surgery and beauty methods has scammed other people miraculous advertising, so many people have come to Mailisa company to have a treatment instead of reputable hospital.

At the same time, a more serious problem is that relying on alternative treatment can put patients’ health at risk. There are many traditional medicines are not scientifically tested which means that their effectiveness is uncertain and their side effects can be bad. If people use them, they can affect serious, potential diseases such as heart disease or cancer. In addition, some natural methods are sometimes contaminated and contain dangerous substances. Therefore, choosing these treatments over professional medical advice can cause more harm than good.

In conclusion, it seems to me that using complementary medicine has potential risk about people’s health. Therefore, professional and modern methods, particularly visiting a doctor should be recommended in light of their beneficial effects.