Nowadays, an increasing number of people with health problems are using alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their normal doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Everyone fears their own mortality, but most people that say it are the ones that are afraid of the process of dying, especially when it is through a slow and painful disease. Since disease is one of the major causes that endangers our life, it is logical that we defend ourselves against it with the most efficient, tested, and trustworthy means.Therefore, we should trust doctors instead of trying alternative medicine. There is a current trend where people tend to go for alternative medicine instead of the physician. I believe this is a negative development because of the lack of Scientific Evidence and Regulation and a high chance of a misdiagnosis occurring.

I would argue that the preference for alternative treatments over visiting a doctor is a largely a negative development, primarily due to a critical lack of scientific evidence and regulation. Without any scientific background,many alternative therapies cannot prove they are effective meaning patients risk wasting crucial time and money on something that doesn’t work while their underlying disease progresses. This is especially dangerous for serious conditions like cancer or infections,where delaying treatment could progress the disease making it more fatal or more difficult to cure.

Another major problem is the high risk of a misdiagnosis. A doctor’s primary role is to use their extensive medical training and diagnostic tools, like blood tests and imaging scans, to accurately identify the root cause of a health problem. Many alternative medical men lack this training. They might incorrectly attribute the symptoms of a serious illness, like heart disease or cancer, to a simpler, unproven cause. As a result, the patient is treated for the wrong problem. This misdiagnosis is incredibly dangerous because it allows the real, underlying disease to progress untreated, becoming more severe and difficult to manage.