Nowadays artificial intelligence is being used to drive cars. Why is this happening? Is it a positive or negative development?

In the recent years, artificial intelligence is increasingly used to drive automobiles. This due to the advancement of the technology and it should be seen as positive development because it reduces car crashes.

People tend to buy driverless cars for disparate reasons. To begin with, due to the development of technology and the production of artificial intelligence software programs, people have witnessed the benefits of these cars, including their safety. For instance, a recent study that measured accident rates showed that human drivers had a crash rate of 50.5 crashes per million miles, whereas self-driving cars had a crash rate of 23. Moreover, it is widely believed that self-driving cars are more efficient, environmentally friendly, and save time compared to human-driven cars. Due to these purposes, robotic cars have become widespread in recent years.

This should be seen as a progressive development because it will save lives by eliminating road accidents. Human beings are likely to make mistakes while driving as a result of many reasons, such as losing concentration, drinking alcohol, and falling asleep. Consequently, the frequency of car collisions is going to be higher, leading to the deaths of more people. However, self-driving cars are safer than manual-driven cars. This is to say that robotic cars are free from human error, which makes them reliable. Thus, the frequency of mortality caused by accidents will be much lower when people start using driverless cars.

In conclusion, the emergency of computer-controlled cars in the latest years is caused by the improvement of technology and their security. It should be perceived as a positive advancement because of its reduction in accidents.