Nowadays artificial intelligence is being used to drive cars. Why is this happening? Is it a positive or negative development?

In recent days, it is uncommon to see automobiles being driven by artificial intelligence. This is due to advancements in Technology and it should be seen as a positive development because it makes driving safer for humans.

The development in the Technology field has led to the creation of advanced Machine Learning algorithms. These algorithms, when combined with a vast amount of data across the Internet and devices will be able to produce highly intelligent programs that could fully operate a vehicle just like humans. For example, Tesla is one of the pioneers in applying Artificial Intelligence to their cars to allow self-driving features. The data from their vehicles is also gathered in a database to aid with AI training processes.

This advancement is considered a positive one because it helps reduce traffic accidents on the road. Since Artificial Intelligence is fully integrated with the car, the amount of time taken for it to respond to a collision or to handle a situation is significantly faster than a human being. With the help of built-in sensors and cameras around the vehicle, machines can make decisions quickly to avoid collisions and protect their owner. For instance, Google’s self-driving car was able to immediately hit the brake to avoid a collision with a car, which suddenly stopped in the middle of the road due to engine issues.

To conclude, the rapid growth in the field of Technology has made self-driving vehicles more popular in our daily lives, and these innovations should be welcomed because they help to protect humankind from unwanted accidents on the road.