Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

The current situation has caused the transformation of working habits for the public. Many people choose to be self-employed rather than working in a company or organization. I believe two factors might be the reasons for this case. More than that, in my opinion, several disbenefits could happen from being self-employed. This essay will explain the motive of being self-employed and the drawbacks of being self-employed.

According to the reasons for people who choose to be self-employed, I think these two factors have become the motivation. The first motive is the flexibility of time management. When people decide to not work in the company or organization, they do not need to work from 9 am to 5 pm or follow the company’s rules. For example, self-employed people can pick to work from 7 am to 11 am and then continue to be on duty from 4 pm to 7 pm. No pressure to keep pace with co-workers. The second factor is family. Many people choose to be self-employed because they want to always give attention to their families as much as they can. For instance, self-employed people have the option to bring their family when they are on duty or doing their business. But the worker from a company should only work with their colleagues. They are not allowed to take their families on business trips.

Even though it seems good to see the flexibility of being self-employed, I think there are still several drawbacks to being self-employed. First, there is no guarantee of salary. When people choose to become self-employed people, then they need to be responsible for their payments. Second, there is no guarantee of medical insurance. Like the salary, self-employed people should be responsible for arranging their medical insurance. More than that, self-employed people should be responsible for working without a boss. They have to decide everything alone without direction.

In conclusion, the motivations of people who choose to be self-employed are flexibility of time management and flexibility of working with family. Although it looks good to be self-employed, there are still several disadvantages such as no guarantee of salary and medical insurance, and also the big responsibility of working alone.