Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In contemporary society, self-employment has been a noticeable trend in lieu of being hired by a corporation. From my perspective, the rationale for this is twofold and, there are several drawbacks that could arise from from being a freelancer.

Some reasons could be addressed for the growth of this phenomenon, such as the flexibility of time. To elaborate, the vast majority of companies and organizations require their employees to be at work on time and, numerous people find difficulty in doing so. Besides, many researches have conducted that each individual has a distinguished period of time during the day, in which they are radically sober and energized. Therefore, being a self-employee could provide people with the ability to manage their time and obtain better results. Not only can this enhance productivity, but also gives the ability to actively control the remunerations. To be more specific, dissimilar to an ordinary worker, whose salary is fixed and hard to be raised, freelancers own the decision of how many jobs and clients they will work with daily or monthly. Hence, self-employees could work more or less, depending on their feelings. For instance, if they are under the weather, they could reschedule for a day off without affecting their income.

On the other hand, such conveniences go along with several hindrances. To clarify, fixed professions may seem mundane with no control over the remunerations, nonetheless, it is more secure as even if the company’s profit plunges, employees’ salaries will be unaltered. Adversely, being self-employed means putting oneself at risk of being vulnerably impacted by the market. Another conspicuous disadvantage of self-employment is the working environment. Specifically, working in a company requires cooperation and communication between co-workers, hence, people will have the opportunity to learn from each other and grow, meanwhile, this is not the case for self-employment.

In conclusion, being self-employed could result in better task achievement and full control of work. Notwithstanding, followed by several considerable drawbacks and therefore, should be thoroughly considered before being chosen.