Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

TASK 2

Living in today’s world, some people think that being self-employed is more preferable instead of working with a company or organisation and this situation is even more popular. In my opinion, this is because the freedom of flow at work that the business owners can obtain regardless of the disadvantages related to irregular workloads and the risks itself. Pretty Clear !!!

To begin with, there are several reasons for the rise of self-employment among many people today, but one of the most influential is freedom of work. The large number of self-employed people want to avoid the significant tight contracts, excessive working hours, and disproportionate income that they might get if they work in a certain company. Therefore, these people are more into the flexibility of working hours, working space as well as the salary. People are motivated by the desire for a work-life balance that they cannot get from work for a company. They can set their both income and client targets, so they can customise their professional life to better align with their personal aspirations and lifestyle preferences.

Even though there are opportunities as well as benefits that people can get by running their own business, they should also consider the disadvantages of being self-employed. A major drawback is the irregularity of workloads. Self- employed individuals may experience peaks and troughs in their workload. While self- employment offers freedom and flexibility, it also requires a high level of self-discipline and motivation. Without the structure provided by a standard workplace arrangement, they must actively manage their own time, set goals, and stay motivated to achieve success. Furthermore, being self employed is more challenging because it also involves many risks that might impact the business. For instance, uncertain markets and income require us to work harder to gain a larger market share. We need to spend more money as an initial capital with uncertain return on investment and also dedicate ourselves to ensure the business remains sustainable and drives financial growth.

In conclusion, the preference for self-employment nowadays is driven by the desire for work freedom, which encourages flexibility in working hours, workspace as well as the salary. Though, those who are considering self-employment should carefully consider the advantages against the risks or challenges. Irregular workloads, inherent business risks, and the need for self-discipline may disrupt themselves leading their business to the worst. Despite this, many people find the benefits of it and the opportunities to pursue their passion or vision worth the effort.