Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

It has been observed that more adults prefer to be freelancers and work remotely from home rather than be employed by giant enterprises and have a strict timetable. Personally, I consider there are many reasons for such a tendency and will try to highlight them in the following essay, combined with potential drawbacks.

To begin with, there are a few main reasons why individuals might like to work for themselves. First of all, it gives them a chance not to be restrained by work limits and to choose what career to pursue. For example, at the peak of the COVID-19 infection, an enormous number of workers had become jobless due to a strict lockdown. Such situations on the job market lead to modern solutions, one of which is to become self-employed. Secondly, there is a belief that self-employed people get more revenue than average people. For instance, the most successful people in the world are entrepreneurs. Steve Jobs and Elon Musk managed to evolve their startups to a tremendous size and are therefore considered the biggest examples in the sphere.

Nonetheless, there could be a number of drawbacks to this kind of trend. First and foremost, working from home can become a superb struggle for many individuals because of a lack of concentration. As humans, we are not used to considering a home as a place where we can finally relax from an exhausting workday. Therefore, at the start, it can be difficult to adapt to a new reality where two worlds combine into one.

To sum up, there are many facets to this kind of industry, so if someone wants to start one, they should think about a number of things in order to succeed.