Nowadays more and more older people who are looking for work have to compete with younger people for the same jobs. What problems does this cause? What are some possible solutions?

The competition between the young and the old candidate for a specific occupation is now increasing. Several factors have contributed to this tendency, but the main key is that human resource departments are looking for professional candidates regardless of their age. Respectively, various solutions have been given, though the best proposal would be categorizing apprentices into the right position.

Companies are now recruiting employees based on their ability to work, not their age. To explain, the efficiency of enterprises is contributed by individuals’ productivity, which is considerably assisted by techonologies. In addition, elderly people tend to catch up with the industrial revolution slowlier than the young, which prevents them from handling the technology-related tasks. Moreover, the younger staff can think outside of the box frequently. To clarify, because the old staff have solutions for respective issues as they have experienced these problems, the issue-approach might be repeated over time. In contrast, the interns have less experience, so the employees always have multi-dimensional perspectives on every issue to find the most appropriate method.

To deal with the problem, many creative suggestions have been delivered, one of these is classifying apprentices based on their strengths. For explanation, both interns and seniors have respective abilities which are suitable for particular positions. For example, candidates are looking for engineering, but the manager positions have more responsibility and experience than the intern. For instance, apart from profession, managers are mostly responsible for dealing with people which are enacting policies, handling conflicts among staff, while the interns have sole responsibility for their products.

In conclusion, though fresher laborers can catch up with innovations, which contributed to work productivity, faster than old laborers, companies need experienced employees for higher positions. Therefore, should the entrepreneurs alter the regulations, both the young and the old candidates can get the same job without having intensive competition.