Nowadays, more and more people are choosing to use private cars instead of public transport. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages ?

In recent years, the rate of private car production has experienced a substantial growth over the world. This essay will highlight some of the benefits and drawbacks that have resulted from this trend.

Looking at the positives, a significant advantage a rise in private machines contributes is convenience. This is because they tend to travel at higher speed compared to public transports due to the default weight they possess and the number of people they carry. Eventually, the less a resident spends time on road, the less stress they are likely to have. Not only a reduction in stress but personalized routes is an important advantage of owning a personal car. Unlike buses or subways which do not stop at an exact location and thus, require a walk, cars tend to save time and effort.

However, the growth of private cars also presents some disadvantages, the most crucial one of which is traffic jams. In other words, in inappropriately designed roads or rather narrow ones, traffic congestion is often a case because of high number of cars during rush hours. Contrary to personal cars, there are specially designed roads for public transports alone which support the mobility, and comfort of users as well. To make matters worse, an increase in personal cars use leads to an increase in fuel they need to burn to travel. This means that more pollution exists, and environmental damage is a consequence.

In conclusion, despite the personal benefits of the growth of private car production such as convenience, distress, and personalized routs, the public drawbacks like traffic congestion and damage to the environment should also be taken into consideration.