Nowadays, more and more people choose to do their shopping onlineinstead of going to physical stores. Why is this so? What are the disadvantages of this trend?

In recent times, due to the proliferation of internet service, online shopping is gaining popularity among people of all ages across the world. This trend brings about significant benefits, such as it offers convenience to the buyers and people have so many different options to choose from. However, it also poses challenges that include the fare of getting robbed as well as getting low-quality commodities.

To begin with, online shopping facilities provide immense convenience to the individuals who want to buy. It is especially a decent option for those persons who are busy or do not get enough space to go to market physically to purchase something. Additionally, online shopping also provides door-to-door services which is the real game changer of this method as people can get their goods sitting at home. Another advantage of this phenomenon is that there are several options for the people who want to buy. People can compare the quality between same products from different companies, can also compare the price of two or more products in order to get the best products within their budget. A recent survey published by the New York Times reveals that people are continuously backing for more online-based shopping facilities as they are providing state-of-the-art services to the consumers and people can get some many choices to choose in this form of shopping.

Conversely, online shopping system has some drawbacks parallelly. Firstly, people generally use credit or debit cards to pay online where they may face fraud from online hackers. It is a very common issue across the people all over the world who generally prefer to buy products online rather than shopping physically. Sometimes, they lose a lot of money when they are trapped in. On the other hand, it is a very common concern among the consumers whether they would get quality products. Sometimes, people receive fake or low-quality products which are generally unusable. As a result, consumers get demotivated or demoralised to purchase something from the online store which is a great hindrance in the way of advancements of online shopping. For instance, a survey published by Berlin University in 2023 claimed that around 26% of people who frequently buy products from online criticize online marketing companies for providing low-quality products which is really an issue of concern.

To conclude, I would like to reiterate that although online shopping has many advantages such as in terms of convenience and choosing products, it has some drawbacks too, as follows robbed of by hackers and get low-quality products.