Nowadays, most countries can improve the standard of living through economic development, but some social values are lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of this phenomenon outweigh the disadvantages?

There is no denying fact that the phenomena of improving the standard of living through economic development is ubiquitous across the globe. Majority of folks are in favour of this statement regardless of its number of merits. However, some people highlight it demerits first. In my further paragraphs, advantages and disadvantages of the topic will be discussed.

Initiating with the benefits, the first and foremost key benefit is that economic development can improve health services and living standards in most countries. Health centres can use highly expensive equipment in economically developed countries and which contributes to live longer. Another positive outcome which should not be underestimated is that economically development leads to technological growth. In this period of globalisation the majority of people are suffering from global health issues. Technological gadgets can be helpful to curb this problem. For instance, these kinds of gadgets may solve the global health issue which is cancer and AIDS.

On the other side, first drawback to mention is materialism in developed countries because of the fact that materialism is today’s disease. Financial growth is excessively essential for many people; however, this can lead to decrease social values. Additionally, technological improvements can disappear our cultural and social values. For example, In my country, before technological development everyone try to meet in special days. However, nowadays everybody sends a message just using a smartphones regardless of social values.

In conclusion, neither its pros not its cons can be neglected since this problem involves both positive and negative. In my opinion, either aspect of the argument should be underestimated; conversely particular importance should be placed. In my opinion, despite some obvious drawbacks which should not be overlooked, I think the benefits of economic development outbalance.