Nowadays, most countries can improve the standard of living through economic development, but some social values are lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of this phenomenon outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, many countries’ main goal to develop their country is to focus on economic development, but many people believe that the outcome of only focusing on economic growth would be the loss of many precious social values. I believe that even though the disadvantages could be vary but it could not outweigh the advantages.

On one hand, the aim to focus on economic development could potentially generate many problems for society. Firstly, many environmental problems often are the result of industrial revolution. Many factories often do not have the wastewater treatment system. Therefore those sewage would be pumped out to the sea and rivers and pollute the environment. This will affect the lives of the citizens who live near those areas. Secondly, family relationships could also be affected because many working age people who might also be a parent or they might have old parents to take care of. Because of this, they might not be able to balance their long working hours and their relationships with their families.

On the other hand, economic growth could bring many advantages to the country and even overcome those disadvantages that have been listed out before. Firstly, a country that has a mature economy can have a bigger budget for public infrastructures. They can build more public schools and renovate the already existing ones, and they could also potentially build more parks and playgrounds. Therefore, the kids could have a better environment to study and live in. Furthermore, with a bigger budget for public goods, many elderly homes can be built to support older people to have professional support. Secondly, focusing mainly on economic growth, more people who come from unfortunate backgrounds could have the chance to work and improve their lives and their families’ lives. Thirdly, the country that has a developed economy can take care of their environmental problems better. Because then they would be able to buy fancy machines that could solve many common environmental problems. For example, the sewage problems can be fix by detoxifying systems.

In Conclusion, focusing mainly on economic development can lead to many drawbacks but I believe that it could not outweigh the benefits.