Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Currently, people’s whereabouts are being unconsciously monitored with the help of technological gadgets such as cellphone tracking systems and security cameras. Though this system has certain disadvantages on ethical grounds, I personally think that it’s advantages like public safety outweigh them.

In terms of limitations, when people are being observed without their knowledge through personal or public observational devices, there is significant breech of privacy. This can even lead to legal issues, especially when confidential matters such as bank details are being disclosed. For example, David Linn, an american celebrity filed a lawsuit against his phone company for exposing his pictures online.

On the contrary, merits of the recent surveillance system cancels out it’s demerits, with regard to public safety. Applications with GPS facility can be used in order to locate suspects and thereby prevent crimes in the society. Parents can also use the same software to ensure that their children are not in danger. Moreover, shop-lifting and burglaries can be efficiently prevented with the security cameras and burglar alarms. It inturn gives the general population, a sense of protection. For example, the government of Tamil Nadu had launched a mobile phone application exclusively for women, which enabled 24 hours monitoring service and reports shows that hundreds of social crimes against women were avoided there onwards.

In conclusion, I believe that using technology and electronics to monitor the population for safety precautions is a great advantage and hence, disadvantages pertaining to societal ethics like invasion of privacy can be ignored.