Nowadays, technology is widely used in education. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays technology is extensively utilized in the process of becoming educated. In my opinion, benefits of using of technology in education surpass its drawbacks.

First and foremost, integration of technological advancements to education appears to have some disadvantages. A particular one is that there are a number of distractions during digital learning. To illustrate, while someone is practicing on his/her device, they can be distracted with calls and notifications from somebody, from various apps. Particularly, some students may be tempted to check social media while studying which significantly reduce concentration and academic performance. Another point worth mentioning is that technology-driven education causes health problems. It would be argued that incorporation of technology to education is one of the reasons for eye problem in today’s complex society. For instance, increasing screen time is resulted with deterioration of vision and other breakdowns on eyes. Furthermore, sitting in front of digital device may lead to headache, back pain, even stress which negatively affect learning process.

Nevertheless, benefits of using technology in education are considerably more. Among tremendous merits is its potential to facilitate the learning process. In other words, information related to any topic and resources that are necessary for students are more accessible for them with the assistance of technology. Specifically, when learners research about something they are not aware of, they can simply search the internet and obtain all the information needed about topic. Moreover, enhancing the contribution of technology in education improves quality of lessons. As an illustration, different types of materials are used such as videos, apps, and pictures through digital boards and computers during learning in order to make the students more enthusiastic about lessons, encourage their eagerness, and transforms learning to a more stimulating and enjoyable activity.

To conclude, despite some problem with technology-based education, advantages of it outweigh the disadvantages. And I consider that the role of technology will increase in education significantly.